Locking While Editing

Especially useful for sites with multiple authors, WordPress locks posts or pages that are currently being edited so that another person cannot accidentally start editing the content at the same time.

The person trying to edit is alerted that the post or page is locked, told who is currently editing, and given the option to take over editing.

Showing Locked Content

Showing that a Post is Locked from Posts > All Posts

Option to take over editing

When trying to edit a locked post or page, you have the option to take over editing.

Content Taken Over

Showing that the content has been taken over by another user.