Current Members


Graduate students

Allison C. Vander Wall
Allison has a B.S. in Chemistry from Westmont College in Santa Barbara, CA.  She is currently working on the kinetics and mechanisms governing how gaseous species interact with and grow particles in secondary organic aerosol.  Fun fact: She enjoys hiking and identifying different plant and animal species.


Andrea (Annie) Rohrbacher
Annie joins us from Chicago where she worked on environmental and employee health concerns in the pharmaceutical industry. She was most recently responsible for developing quantitative analytical methods for next-generation active pharmaceutical ingredients in environmental and occupational health studies, and was previously responsible for the company’s environment, health, and safety (EHS) regulatory program run in 28 countries. Annie earned her B.S. in chemistry from Dominican University in River Forest, Ill. in 2011. In her free time, she enjoys cooking new recipes and running the trails in Orange County.


Post-doctoral scholars

Jing Xu, PhD (coll. with Pr. Benny Gerber)
Jing earned her Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Jilin University, in Changchun, China, in 2015.  She is working in Prof. Benny Gerber’s group as a postdoctoral scholar at UCI.  She is studying the multicomponent small clusters in the atmosphere.




Project Scientists

Mike J. Ezell
Mike received his M.A. degree in 1970 from California State University at Fullerton.  From about 1980 until the present, he has worked in the Finlayson-Pitts labs on multiple projects and presently on reactive uptake of gas-phase amines on solid dicarboxylic acids.


Veronique Perraud, PhD
Veronique earned a B.S. in Chemistry (with a minor in Natural Sciences) and a M.S. in Analytical Chemistry.  She received her Ph.D. in Environmental Sciences from the University Aix-Marseille I in France in 2007.  She has been working on many projects in the Finlayson-Pitts research group since April 2008 (link).  She loves solving challenging analytical problems in the lab and blogging about how cool science can be! (Chem blog)


Lisa M. Wingen, PhD
Lisa earned her B. S. in chemistry at California State University, Fullerton and her M.S. and Ph.D. in physical chemistry at UC Irvine in 1999.  Her research projects have included almost everything under the sun — gas-phase chemistry of VOCs, photo-oxidation of sea salt aerosol, heterogeneous hydrolysis of nitrogen dioxide, composition and growth of laboratory-generated secondary organic aerosol, and others.  She enjoys being able to take part in a variety of research projects with lots of instrumentation.



Weihong Wang, PhD




Project Coordinator
Melissa Sweet

Admnistrative Assistant
Victoria Stewart-Goss


Honorary Members

Tracy Caldwell-Dyson



Alisa Ezell Smith



James N. Pitts Jr.



Martina Roeselova




Past members

Undergraduate students

Simone Andersen (exchange student from Denmark)
Simone graduated with a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Copenhagen in 2016. She is currently studying for the M.S. in Green and Sustainability Chemistry at the University of Copenhagen. She is spending her first year of M.S. as an exchange student at UCI (she is considered here as an undergraduate students since her B.S. took only three years). She is studying the photolysis of different neonicotinoids using FTIR. Fun fact: She likes to paddle races down waterfalls.

Brandon Buehler
Michael Brown
Chris Elliott
Ellen Fleyshman
Adrian Gomez
Brice Loop
Kjertan Lyster
Geovani Montoya
Eleazar Rodriguez
Olivia Ryder
Gennady Soskin
Sarah Toal

Graduate students

Kristine D. Arquero
Kristine earned her B.S. in Chemistry from UC Berkeley (Go Bears!) and her M.S. in Science Education from the City University of New York – Lehman College. She taught high school chemistry prior to coming to UC Irvine. Kristine is currently working on understanding the fundamental chemistry of how new particles form from gases in the atmosphere using a custom-built aerosol flow system. Fun Fact: Kristine enjoys listening to podcasts and practices Shine Theory (look it up!).

Michelle Fairhurst
Michelle has a B.S. in biology and a B.A. in Chemistry from California Lutheran University in Thousand Oaks, CA and a M.S. in Chemistry from California State University, Los Angeles. She is currently working on elucidating the kinetics and mechanisms of particle growth using atmospherically relevant reaction systems. Fun fact: she can ride a dirt bike (no crazy stunts).


Crisand Anderson
Emily Bruns
Bill Cody
Matthew L. Dawson
Christopher Dilbeck
Michael Gebel
Chris Harmon
Margaret Kaleuati
Matt Lakin
Brian McGovney
Javier Mestas
Samar Moussa
Mark Ragains
Kevin Ramazan
Nicole Richards-Henderson
Armando Rivers-Figueroa
Huda Shaka
Rachelle Smalley
Jennie Thomas
Weihong Wang
Lisa Wingen

Post-doctoral scholars

Kifle Z. Aregahegn, PhD
Kifle graduated from Addis Abba University in Ethiopia with a B.Ed. degree in Chemistry and M.S. in Molecular nano- and Biophotonics from the Erasmus Master Program. He received his PhD in Atmospheric Chemistry from University Claude Bernard-Lyon 1, IRECELYON, France in 2014. Currently, Kifle is working on the atmospheric fates of neonicotinoid pesticides.

Sambhav Kumbhani, PhD
Sambhav did his Bachelors and Masters in Chemistry from University of Mumbai, India. In 2015, he finished his Ph.D. in atmospheric Chemistry at Brigham Young University, Utah. Currently, he is working on understanding the mechanism of extractive electrospray ionization mass spectrometry (EESI-MS). He likes to do photography in his spare time.


Bill Barney
Peter Beichert
Tracy Caldwell Dyson
Haihan Chen
David DeHaan
Yael Dubowski
Krishna Foster
Brigitte Fox-Beyer
Aline Gratien
Sherri Hunt
Frederico Karagulian
Carla Kidd
Chris Knox
Charles Lai
Sarka Langer
Michihiro Mochida
Amy Moskun
Ruaidhri Neavyn
Noriko Nishino
Trent Nordmeyer
Kawon Oum
Sean Pemberton
Jonathan Raff
William Robertson
Najat Saliba
Jochen Stutz
Ann Louise Sumner
Dennis Syomin
Katherine Thompson
Mychel Varner (coll. with Pr. Benny Gerber)
Rainer Vogt
Husheng Yang
Yong Yu
Yue Zhao

Project Scientists / Visiting researchers
Barbara D’Anna (visiting researcher)
Lambert Doezema (visiting researcher)
Jean-Francois Doussin (visiting researcher)
Stanley Johnson
Teri Longin (visiting researcher)
Yan Li (visiting researcher)
Theresa McIntire
Saloua Saidane (visiting researcher)