Planning Committee

UCI_50th_Final_OL_210The 50th anniversary celebration aims to touch as wide an audience as possible, with primary focus on the UCI family – alumni, students (and their parents), faculty, staff and community supporters – and the Orange County community (including prospective students and donors). Therefore the planning committee and attendant subcommittees comprise representatives for each of the constituencies. The planners also welcome your comments and suggestions for how best to mark this milestone.


Thomas A. Parham
Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Strategic Communications

Ria Carlson
Associate Vice Chancellor

Janice Hopkins
Marketing Director

Cathy Lawhon
Sr. Media Relations & Publications Director

Sherry Main
Creative & Digital Strategies Director
Strategic Communications

John Mouledoux
Senior Director of Communications

Will Nagel
Communications Manager

UC Irvine Health

Pam Brashear
Account Manager, Marketing

John Murray
Media Relations Manager

Patrick Patterson
Marketing Director

Student Affairs

Kelly Carland
Special Events & Commencement Coordinator, Student Affairs

Mark Deppe
Assistant Director, Student Government

Edgar Dormitorio
Chief of Staff

Brice Kikuchi
Budget Officer

Sandy Winslow Jones
Executive Director of Student Government

Rameen Talesh
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Dean of Students

UCI Alumni Association

Debbie Daniel
Alumni Board Representative

Jeff Minhas
Interim Executive Director

Administrative & Business Services

Paul Henisey
Chief of Police, UCI Police Department

Community & Government Relations

Kate Klimow
Assistant Vice Chancellor
UCI Community and Government Relations

Craig Reem
Public Affairs & Communications Director
City of Irvine

Liz Toomey
Community Leader

Office of the Chancellor

Angela Duby
Associate Director, CEO Roundtable

Bayard Veiller
Executive Communications Director

Office of the Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor

Herbert Killackey
Vice Provost for Academic Personnel


Robby Ray
Assistant Athletic Director, Corporate Relations

University Advancement

Carolyn Canning-White
Executive Director of Development, Emerging Constituencies

Dan Montplaisir
Assistant Vice Chancellor, University Development

Amanda Sivgals
Associate Director of Special Event Strategy

Mitch Spann
Senior Director of Development

Jessie Steward
Director of Special Events

UCI Libraries

Audra Eagle Yun
Acting Head of Special Collections & Archives

Faculty Representatives

Julia Lupton
English Professor
School of Humanities

Donald Saari
Institute for Mathematical Behavioral Sciences Director
Distinguished Professor of Economics and Mathematics
School of Physical Sciences

UCI Extension

Zen Yieh
Marketing Account Executive

Office of Planning & Budget

Rich Lynch
Associate Vice Chancellor, Planning & Budget

2 Responses to Planning Committee

  1. Schuyler H. Bassett says:

    Is there anything planned for June 20th – the day that Lyndon B. Johnson dedicated the campus? I wonder how many of us who were there are still around.

  2. G.J.(Pete) Fielding says:

    It’s important that the celebration recognizes the enduring success stories, especially those originating in the first few years. As an ‘original faculty member’ I’d like to nominate: Project 21 organized by Richard Baisden (U.Extension) which brought together business leaders from OC and faculty to consider long-term requirements for a growing county. Successes include open space acquisition and public transit.
    Two other topics worthy of consideration are (1) Origin of computer assisted learning and the development of Computer Sc. as an independent unit (contact Julian Feldman) and (2) the decision not to have a football team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *