UCI Neutrino Group Shares in Fundamental Physics Breakthrough Prize

The Breakthrough Prizes were just announced in the NY Times, on Nov. 8, 2015.  One of the Fundamental Physics Prizes went to five neutrino experiments that showed that neutrinos oscillated.  The UCI Department of Physics and Astronomy Neutrino Group participated in three of the experiments.  Currently they are working on the Super-Kamiokande experiment, and the T2K experiment, both in Japan.  The SNO lab experiment had been proposed by UCI Prof. Herbert Chen.

Scientific American has an excellent but short description of the Breakthrough Fundamental Physics Prize, and an explanation of the neutrino oscillation experiments.

The Super-Kamiokande and SNO experiments were discussed in the second post previous to this.  The experimental leaders of these experiments were awarded the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics.  The contribution of the UCI Neutrino team to the Nobel Prize research is described in the second post previous to this one.

The Breakthrough Awards site covers the leaders and experimenters themselves.

The Super-K site has a description of the experimental contribution to understanding neutrino oscillations, and a list of collaborating institutions.

Those listed who are currently or previously at UC Irvine on Super-Kamiokande are:  Henry W. Sobel, William R. Kropp, Michael B. Smy, Mark R. Vagins, David Casper, Todd J. Haines, and Leroy R. Price.

Those listed as being on SNO who were associated with UC Irvine are Herbert Chen (deceased), Monica Dunford, Steven D. Biller, and Peter Doe.

Members of the K2K and T2K collaboration associated with UC Irvine are:  Henry Sobel, William Kropp, Michael Smy, Mark Vagins, David Casper, Clark McGrew, and Danuta Kielczewska.

The presentation and celebration of the prizes is presented on the National Geographic Channel, but requires a pay tv channel subscription.


About Dennis SILVERMAN

I am a retired Professor of Physics and Astronomy at U C Irvine. For a decade I have been active in learning about energy and the environment, and in lecturing and attending classes at the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) at UC Irvine.
This entry was posted in 2015 Fundamental Physics Prize, 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics, Particle Physics, UC Irvine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply