President’s Letter: WHY Join the UCI Emeriti Association? (Dues Form)

Officers for 2016-2017
James N. Danziger
Vice President/President Elect
Past President
George E. Miller
Stuart Krassner
Newsletter Editor
Retiree Liaison
Jill Halvaks

Program Committee
Jeri Frederick
Barbara Hamkalo
Alex Maradudin
William R. Schonfeld

Executive Committee
Richard Frank
Barbara Hamkalo
Judy Horn
Ron Jevning
Kenneth Kraemer
Stuart Krassner
Pamela Lawrence
Susan Lessick
Peggy Maradudin
Cal McLaughlin
William H. Parker
Eric Stanbridge
Jen Yu

UCI CER Website:

Health Care Facilitator

Jeri I. Frederick, Director
UCI Center for Emeriti and



NEXT Community Lecture – Monday, March 6, 2017, @ 2 p.m.:

From Precious Farmers and Soldiers to Vicious Enemies-
How Kidney Disease Converts Our Gut Microbial Community

Presented by Nosratola D. Vaziri, Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension.

Wine and Cheese Reception is complimentary with your RSVP.

Location: Newkirk Alumni Center, Conference Room. Parking: Complimentary in Lot 14 with RSVP to 949-824-7769 or

Executive Committee Meetings

These meetings are held at the Newkirk Alumni Center Board Room on the 1st Thursday of each month, at 10 a.m. Free parking and refreshments available. If you wish to attend please note these upcoming dates and rsvp to

October 6, 2016
November 3, 2016
December 1, 2016

January 5, 2017
February 2, 2017
March 2, 2017

April 6, 2017
May 4, 2017
June 1, 2017
(Annual Meeting)

Location: 450 Alumni Court, 2nd Floor, Irvine, CA 92697-1225 (click here for map)
Light refreshments are available at each meeting.

A Virtual Eleventh Campus: UC Emeriti Survey Results

A recent survey of UC emeriti regarding their activities during 2012-2015 has yielded a report that is now featured on the CUCEA website:”

In addition The Chronicle of Higher Education published an article on the activities of emeriti (focused on UC emeriti) in the June 3, 2016 edition:

We encourage you to peruse these articles and share with your campus administration as they provide more systematic documentation than anecdotal information about the substantial extent to which emeriti are contributing.



George E. Miller
Louis Gottschalk
Jerome Tobis
Sam McCulloch
Julian Feldman
Roland Schinzinger
Lyman Porter
Kivie Moldave
Ron Miller
Barbara Hamkalo
Ted Quilligan
Cal McLaughlin
William H. Parker
George W. Brown
Henry Fagin
Julian Feldman
Louis Gottschalk
Renee and Judd Hubert
Kivie Moldave
Marion Murphy
C. Orville Rinehardt
Myron Simon
Jerome Tobis
Robert Warner


Sites@UCI provided by the Office of Information Technology, University of California, Irvine